Leadership

Board of Directors

National Association for County Community and Economic Development (NACCED)

2016 - 2017

President

Karen Wiley 
Community Development Manager
Community Resources and Development 
Salt Lake County
2001 South State Street, Suite S2-100
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4575
P (385) 468-4870
C (801) 201-4133
kwiley@slco.org

Vice President
Mitchell Glasser
Manager
Housing and Community Development Division
Orange County 
525 East South St.
Orlando, FL 32801-2817
P (407) 836-5190
C (321) 228-8930 
mitchell.glasser@ocfl.net

Secretary/Treasurer


Mary Keating 
Director of Community Services
DuPage County
421 North County Farm Road
Wheaton, IL 60187
P (630) 407-6457
C (630) 669-6923
mary.keating@dupageco.org

NACCED Rep. to NACo
Patricia Ward
Director
Housing and Community Development Division
Tarrant County
100 E. Weatherford St.
Fort Worth, TX 76196
P (817) 850-7940
C (817) 996-2973
pward@tarrantcounty.com

Immediate Past President
Chuck Robbins
Director
Housing and Community Development 
Clackamas County
2051 Kaen Road
Oregon City, OR 97045-0510
P (503) 650-5666
C (503) 730-9901
chuck@co.clackamas.or.us

Director
Denise Beigbeder
Community Development Representative
Ramsey County
15 West Kellogg Blvd., Room 250
St. Paul, MN 55102
P (651) 266-8005
C (612) 889-5771
denise.beigbeder@co.ramsey.mn.us
Director
Jennifer Daniels 
Planning and Community Development Manager
Department of Community Planning, Housing and Development  
Arlington County
2100 Clarendon Blvd., Suite 700
Arlington, VA 22201
P (703) 228-3822
jldaniels@arlingtonva.us

Director
Israel “Bo” Henry
Shelby County
Department of Housing
1075 Mullins Station Road
Memphis, TN 38134
P (901) 379-7100
israel.henry@shelbycountytn.gov
Director
Jim Johnston
Assistant Manager, Compliance and Diversity
Allegheny County Economic Development
One Chatham Center, Suite 900
112 Washington Place
Pittsburgh, PA 15219
P (412) 350-1027
jim.johnston@alleghenycounty.us
Director
Bill Lake
Director
Community Preservation and Development
Prince William County
15941 Donald Curtis Drive, Suite 112
Woodbridge, VA 22191
P (703)792-7539
blake@pwcgov.org
Director
George Serio
Director
Essex County
20 Crestmont Road
Verona, NJ 07044
P (973) 655 0200
gserio@essexhcd.com
Director
Tonja West-Hafner
Principal Planning Analyst
Hennepin County
701 4th Avenue S, Suite 400
Minneapolis, MN 55415
P (612) 348-2599
C (612) 807-4135
tonja.west-hafner@hennepin.us
Director
Samantha Whitley
Program Coordinator
Housing and Community Development
Clark County
P.O. Box 5000
1601 E. Fourth Plain Blvd.
Vancouver, WA 89666-5000
P (360) 397-2075 x 7842
C (360) 907-5037
samantha.whitley@clark.wa.gov

 

NACCED Staff

   

Laura DeMaria, Executive Director

Laura DeMaria is the Executive Director of the National Association for County Community and Economic Development (NACCED). She joined NACCED in 2013 from the US Department of Commerce, where she served as a Trade and Industry Analyst. A native of North Carolina, Laura is an alum of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and the American University School of Public Affairs, where she earned a Master’s in Public Administration and Nonprofit Management. As Executive Director, Laura is passionate about increasing NACCED’s presence as the premier voice of community development administrators across the country, building relationships with key partners and increasing awareness of affordable housing and community development issues at the national level. Laura serves on the Arlington County Community Services Board and on the Board of Directors of L'Arche of Greater Washington DC.

 
  Heather Voorman, Policy Director

Heather Voorman is the Policy Director for NACCED. She received her B.S. from South Dakota State University and her J.D. from the University of Nebraska College of Law. Prior to joining NACCED, Heather worked as the Consolidated Plan and Community Development Coordinator for the State of Nebraska’s Department of Economic Development. Additionally, her previous professional experience includes Community Outreach Specialist for The Groundwater Foundation and Legislative Assistant in the U.S. House of Representatives handling topics including housing, small business, and regulatory issues.
  Sarah Mullen, Membership and Operations Associate

Sarah Mullen started in December 2016 as the Membership and Operations Associate for NACCED. Sarah graduated from Gettysburg College, PA. Prior to joining SmithBucklin, Sarah worked as a Business Development Associate for Vorsight in Arlington, VA. 

 

NACCED Past Presidents

View a list of NACCED's past presidents here.