Leadership

Board of Directors

National Association for County Community and Economic Development (NACCED)

2018 - 2019

President

Mitchell Glasser
Manager
Housing and Community Development Division
Orange County 
525 East South St.
Orlando, FL 32801-2817
P (407) 836-5190
C (321) 228-8930 
mitchell.glasser@ocfl.net

Vice President
Mary Keating 
Director of Community Services
DuPage County
421 North County Farm Road
Wheaton, IL 60187
P (630) 407-6457
C (630) 669-6923
mary.keating@dupageco.org
Secretary/Treasurer

Cheryl Markham
Strategic Policy Advisor
Director’s Office
King County Dept of Community & Human Services
401 Fifth Avenue, Suite 500
Seattle, WA 98104
P: 206-263-9067
C: 206-390-3974
Cheryl.Markham@kingcounty.gov

NACCED Rep. to NACo
Patricia Ward
Community Development/Housing Director
Mayors’ Council Executive Director
Tarrant County
100 E. Weatherford St.
Fort Worth, TX 76196
P (817) 850-7940
C (817) 996-2973
pward@tarrantcounty.com
Immediate Past President
Karen Wiley 
Community Development Manager
Community Resources and Development 
Salt Lake County
2001 South State Street, Suite S2-100
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4575
P (385) 468-4870
C (801) 201-4133
kwiley@slco.org
Director
David Sacks
Community Development Manager
Henrico County Department of Community Revitalization
4062 Crockett Street - PO Box 90775
Henrico, VA 23273
804-501-7611
sac01@henrico.us
Director
Jennifer Daniels 
Planning and Community Development Manager
Department of Community Planning, Housing and Development  
Arlington County
2100 Clarendon Blvd., Suite 700
Arlington, VA 22201
P (703) 228-3822
jldaniels@arlingtonva.us
Director
Israel “Bo” Henry
Shelby County
Department of Housing
1075 Mullins Station Road
Memphis, TN 38134
P (901) 379-7100
israel.henry@shelbycountytn.gov
Director
Jim Johnston
Manger of Municipal Development
Allegheny County Economic Development
One Chatham Center, Suite 900
112 Washington Place
Pittsburgh, PA 15219
P: (412) 350-1027
jim.johnston@alleghenycounty.us
Director
Linda Jenkins
Manager
Community & Economic Development Division- Grants Management Unit
Community Development Commission/Housing Authority of the County of Los Angeles
700 W. Main Street
Alhambra, CA 91801
P: 626.586-1765
linda.jenkins@lacdc.org
Director
George Serio
Director
Essex County
20 Crestmont Road
Verona, NJ 07044
P (973) 655 0200
gserio@essexhcd.com
Director
Tonja West-Hafner
Principal Planning Analyst
Hennepin County
701 4th Avenue S, Suite 400
Minneapolis, MN 55415
P (612) 348-2599
C (612) 807-4135
tonja.west-hafner@hennepin.us
Director
Samantha Whitley
Program Coordinator
Housing and Community Development
Clark County
P.O. Box 5000
Vancouver, WA 98666-5000
P (360) 397-2075 x 7842
C (360) 907-5037
samantha.whitley@clark.wa.gov

 

NACCED Staff

   

Laura DeMaria, Executive Director

Laura DeMaria is the Executive Director of the National Association for County Community and Economic Development (NACCED). She joined NACCED in 2013 from the US Department of Commerce, where she served as a Trade and Industry Analyst. A native of North Carolina, Laura is an alum of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and the American University School of Public Affairs, where she earned a Master’s in Public Administration and Nonprofit Management. As Executive Director, Laura is passionate about increasing NACCED’s presence as the premier voice of community development administrators across the country, building relationships with key partners and increasing awareness of affordable housing and community development issues at the national level. Laura serves on the Arlington County Community Services Board and on the Board of Directors of L'Arche of Greater Washington DC.

 
  Heather Voorman, Policy Director

Heather Voorman is the Policy Director for NACCED. She received her B.S. from South Dakota State University and her J.D. from the University of Nebraska College of Law. Prior to joining NACCED, Heather worked as the Consolidated Plan and Community Development Coordinator for the State of Nebraska’s Department of Economic Development. Additionally, her previous professional experience includes Community Outreach Specialist for The Groundwater Foundation and Legislative Assistant in the U.S. House of Representatives handling topics including housing, small business, and regulatory issues.
  Sarah Mullen, Membership and Operations Senior Associate

Sarah Mullen started in December 2016 as the Membership and Operations Associate for NACCED. Sarah graduated from Gettysburg College, PA. Prior to joining SmithBucklin, Sarah worked as a Business Development Associate for Vorsight in Arlington, VA. 

 

NACCED Past Presidents

View a list of NACCED's past presidents here.