Roy D. Hoover Memorial Award

The National Association for County Community and Economic Development (NACCED) established the Roy D. Hoover Award - intended to recognize an individual who exhibits the qualities embodied in the late Roy D. Hoover, the former Director of the Department of Urban Affairs for Los Angeles County, CA. Mr. Hoover was a founder and served as the first President of NACCED (1978-1979). He was known for his strong commitment to an improvement in the quality of life for the poor and the disadvantaged. He had a bold determination that urban counties play a strong partnership role with HUD in expanding affordable housing opportunities for low- and moderate-income families and improving their neighborhoods through comprehensive revitalization. Roy was always quick to lend a hand to fellow urban county practitioners by sharing his wealth of experience. He also loved a good time, but only after the work of the Association was completed.

The Award is given if, and when warranted, on an annual basis, with no more than one recipient in a year.

The Award recipient will be an individual who has made extraordinary contributions and achieved significant accomplishments in his or her service to NACCED, to the housing, community development and economic development profession, and to county government. Nominations are solicited annually by the President of NACCED who refers them to the Executive Committee (Officers). In its review, the Committee will give careful consideration to the demonstrated qualities of the nominee(s), including (but not limited to) service to NACCED, demonstrable achievements in the field of housing, community development, and economic development, technical assistance to counties above and beyond the ordinary, and leadership. The Executive Committee’s recommendation is then ratified by the NACCED Board of Directors. The award is limited to NACCED members. Presentation of the Award, should one be recommended, will be made at the NACCED Annual Conference.

Please contact the NACCED office at 202-367-1149 or if you would like to submit a nomination for the Hoover Award.

Past Roy D. Hoover Memorial Award Recipients
Walter D. Webdale, Fairfax County, VA 1991
Dr. Ernest Martin, Dade County, FL 1993
Suzanne Hayes, Cook County, IL 1993
Melissa Ziegler, Knox County, TN 1994
Jim Broughman, Director, Office of Block Grant Assistance, HUD 1996
Al Linden, Union County, NJ 1997
Charles "Chiz" Patterson 1998
Haron Battle, NACo Associate Legislative Director 1999
Lynn Feveryear, Salt Lake County, UT 2001
Bill Mungary, Kern County, CA 2002
Joe Sanseverino, Suffolk County, NY 2003
Randy Patterson, Lancaster County, PA 2005
Frank Newton, Cobb County, GA 2008
Terry Gonzalez, Los Angeles, CA 2011
Pete Munroe, Clark County, WA 2013
John C. Murphy - NACCED Executive Director 2014
Patricia Ward, Tarrant County, TX  2015